Welcome! Login | Register
 

It’s a Pot Luck Sunday Political Brunch – February 25—It’s a Pot Luck Sunday Political Brunch –…

Fit For Life: We Have Enemies—Fit For Life: We Have Enemies

Holy Cross Falls to Colgate 59-53 in Regular Season Finale—Holy Cross Falls to Colgate 59-53 in Regular…

Worcester Fire Department to Hold Rapid Intervention Rescue Drills on Monday—Worcester Fire Department to Hold Rapid Intervention Rescue…

10 Great Things to do in Worcester This Weekend - February 23, 2018—10 Great Things to do in Worcester This…

12 Men Arrested During Undercover Prostitution Sting in Worcester—12 Men Arrested During Undercover Prostitution Sting in…

Finneran: When LeBron Speaks..—Finneran: When LeBron Speaks..

Worcester Center for Crafts to Host Pasta Dinner—Worcester Center for Crafts to Host Pasta Dinner

Worcester Sun to “Temporarily Cease Publication”—Worcester Sun to "Temporarily Cease Publication"

Man Shot in Thigh Outside of Accra Girls Restaurant in Worcester—Man Shot in Thigh Outside of Accra Girls…

 
 

Better Business Bureau Warns of “Is This You” Facebook Scam

Monday, February 05, 2018

 

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) is warning consumers of a social media scam on Facebook.

The scam consists of a video link asking “Is This You.”

About the scam, the BBB writes:

Have you received a Facebook message with a video link asking, “Is this you?” If you have, don’t click the link. Delete the message and make sure your firewall and anti-virus software are up-to-date.

If you do click the link you’re taken to a website that appears to be Facebook or YouTube and asked to log in again. The scam is that once you provide your login information the hacker will have access to your account. And once the hacker can log in to your social media account, they can hijack it to send other scam or malware to your friends. People are more likely to click on links coming from someone they know than someone they don’t and the scam keeps spreading.

Clicking the link can also download malware or unwanted apps to your device.

Rule of thumb: if you receive unsolicited messages with content you were not expecting, do not click on any links. Delete the message. If you’re not sure whether or not it’s a scam, contact the sender directly before clicking any links to see if they really sent you the message. If they didn’t, it’s a red flag their account has been compromised.

To report a scam, click here.

 

Related Articles

 

Enjoy this post? Share it with others.

 
Delivered Free Every
Day to Your Inbox