LEGAL MATTERS: Buying A Used Car—What Are Your Rights?
Wednesday, February 20, 2013
Safety Inspection Warranty
By law, any car a dealer sells in Rhode Island or Massachusetts must be able to pass a state safety inspection. Some dealers think the car just has to have an inspection sticker on it. They are wrong; it must actually be able to pass inspection. So if the dealer just paid a friendly garage to slap a bogus sticker on an unsafe car, you can get your money back.
Warranty of Merchantability
Car dealers have to obey the Uniform Commercial Code which is the set of laws that regulates the sale of goods, including cars, in Rhode Island and Massachusetts. The UCC requires cars to be “merchantable,” meaning fit to pass in the used car trade without objection. In layman’s terms, that means the car must be roadworthy, reasonably safe and free of defects that, if disclosed, would cause you to run away from it. For instance, if the dealer loads a car up with air fresheners to mask its overwhelming fish smell, he will have to take it back when the pleasant smell wears off and you realize what he did.
Depending on the mileage, Massachusetts and Rhode Island law may also entitle you to a third warranty covering your car’s basic mechanical parts. The laws are sometimes referred to as the Used Car Lemon Laws.
In Rhode Island, if you buy a used car with less than 100,000 miles on it from a dealer, the dealer must give you a written warranty covering the:
- Engine, which captures all lubricated parts, water pump, fuel pump, manifolds, engine block, cylinder head, rotary engine housings, and flywheel.
- Transmission, including the transmission case, internal parts, and the torque converter.
- Drive axle, covering the front and rear drive axle housings and internal parts, axle shafts, propeller shafts, and universal joints.
- Brakes from the master cylinder to the vacuum assist booster, wheel cylinders, hydraulic lines and fittings, to the disc brake calipers.
- Steering assembly, starting from the steering gear housing and all internal parts to the power steering pump, valve body, piston, and rack.
Alternator, generator, starter, and ignition system, excluding the battery.
If the car has less than 36,000 miles, the warranty must be for 60 days or 3,000 miles, whichever comes first. If the car has between 36,000 and 100,000 miles, the warranty must be good for 30 days or 1,000 miles, whichever comes first. If the car has more than 100,000 miles, you only get the first two warranties.
In Massachusetts, the law is even more consumer-friendly; when dealers sell cars for $700 or more, they must give a written warranty for cars with up to 125,000 miles that is good for 90 days or 3,750 miles, whichever comes first. (A portion of the law also applies to individuals selling their own cars in Massachusetts.) If the dealer fails to honor the warranty, you may be able to sue under MGL 93A, the Massachusetts Consumer Protection Act, and recover up to 3 times the damages you suffered along with all your attorney fees.
For More Information:
Before you buy from a dealer in Rhode Island, read the Rhode Island Used Car Warranty requirements.
Before you buy from a dealer in Massachusetts, read the Massachusetts Used Car Warranty requirements.
- LEGAL MATTERS: Why You Need To Pay Student Loans First
- LEGAL MATTERS: Are Extended Warranties Worth the Money?
- LEGAL MATTERS: Are You Entitled To Overtime? You Might Be
- LEGAL MATTERS: Don’t Be Taken In By Advance Fee Frauds
- LEGAL MATTERS: Gift Cards—What Are Your Rights?
- LEGAL MATTERS: Lance Armstrong, Lawsuits + MA’s Whistleblowing Law
- LEGAL MATTERS: Religious Challenges to Obamacare