Welcome! Login | Register

Two Weeks to the Election Day Finish Line—Sunday Political Brunch October 21, 2018—Two Weeks to the Election Day Finish Line…

What to Watch For: Patriots vs Bears—What to Watch For: Patriots vs Bears

Red Sox to Face Dodgers in World Series—Red Sox to Face Dodgers in World Series

Monfredo: Schools Need to Reach Out to Parents & Establish a Partnership—Monfredo: Schools Need to Reach Out to Parents…

Crypto’s Summer Time Sadness, Paul Johnson, Guest MINDSETTER™—Crypto's Summer Time Sadness, Paul Johnson, Guest MINDSETTER™

Fit for Life: It’s Up to You to Create Your Own Destiny—Fit for Life: It’s Up to You to…

10 Great Things to do in Worcester This Weekend - October 19, 2018—10 Great Things to do in Worcester This…

Red Sox Advance to The World Series—Red Sox Advance to The World Series

Finneran: Sports Talk—Finneran: Sports Talk

BBB to Host Shred Day in Worcester—BBB to Host Shred Day in Worcester


Clark Professor Peet to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award From American Assoc. of Geographers

Thursday, March 01, 2018


Richard Peet

Clark geography professor Richard Peet will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Association of Geographers to recognize his career as a scholar, teacher, mentor, editor, and activist.

“AAG honors are among the most prestigious awards in American geography. We’re delighted to celebrate this very significant, highly deserved award with our colleague,” said Deborah Martin, professor, and director of the Graduate School of Geography at Clark.

Peet will formally receive the award at the Association’s annual meeting in April.

About Peet

Professor Peet has served as a faculty member in Clark’s Graduate School of Geography for over a half-century. He has been involved in Clark’s International Studies Stream Program, and served twice as the acting director. Professor Peet has held the Leo L. ’36 and Joan Kraft Laskoff Endowed Chair in Economics, Technology, and Environment since 2011; the chair supports a professor and program concerned directly with economic change, technological innovation, and environmental sustainability. 

He has also held visiting appointments in Canada, Australia, Sweden, England, South Africa and New Zealand. 

Peet’s earliest work was in economic geography, then he moved into the political economy of development and branched out into globalization and neo-liberalism. He is a founding member of the “radical geography movement,” and served as co-founder and editor of two journals in the field, Antipode, and Human Geography, the former of which the AAG has labeled “one of the most innovative and cutting-edge frontiers of geography.”

The author of nearly a dozen books and some 135 articles and book reviews, Peet focuses on issues of development, global policy regimes, power, theory and philosophy, political ecology, and finance capitalism.

His book, “Unholy Trinity”—a collaborative effort with seventeen of his students—is critical of the increasing influence of institutions like the International Monetary Fund (IMF), World Bank and World Trade Organization (WTO) on the economy and the consequences experienced by people and the environment.

Other Honorees With Clark Connections

Other scholars with ties to Clark’s Graduate School of Geography who will be recognized at the AAG Annual Meeting in New Orleans in April include:

J. Ronald Eastman, professor of geography at Clark and director of Clark Labs, was selected unanimously to receive the 2018 Outstanding Contributions in Remote Sensing Award from the Remote Sensing Specialty Group of the Association of American Geographers. 

Billie Lee Turner II, currently a research professor and professor in the School of Geography Science and Urban Planning at Arizona State University, will receive the American Association of Geographers Presidential Achievement Award. Professor Turner taught at Clark from 1980 to 2008 and served as Alice C. Higgins and Milton P. Professor of Environment and Society, and served ten years (over three terms) as director of the Graduate School of Geography.

Doctoral candidate Arthur Elmes (adviser John Rogan), will compete in the final round of the J. Warren Nystrom Award competition. Elmes will present his paper "Modeling the Potential Dispersal of Asian Longhorned Beetle in Central Massachusetts using Circuit Theory" to compete for this prize awarded annually to a doctoral candidate for his or her dissertation in geography.  (*Note: Nystrom was also a Clark alumnus; he received his Ph.D. in geography in 1942.)


Related Articles


Enjoy this post? Share it with others.



Stay Connected — Free
Daily Email