MA Ranked as 23rd Strictest State Regarding DUI’s
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
When a driver in Massachusetts commits a first offense, he or she is subject to a minimum fine of $500, no minimum jail sentence, and vehicle impound. The driver is also subject to additional penalties for a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .2 of higher.
Massachusetts does have an Administrative License Suspension (ALS). An ALS requires that the driver’s license be confiscated immediately after the driver’s refusal to take a breathalyzer or a reading of .08 or higher on a breathalyzer. This suspension lasts for 3 months after the arrest.
Upon the second offense the driver is subject to vehicle impound, a minimum fine of $600, and a minimum jail sentence of 30 days. There is no “washout period” - meaning that regardless of how many years apart the offenses are, the driver is subject to the penalties for a second offense.
WalletHub ranked Arizona as the strictest state and South Dakota as the most lenient state.
WalletHub studied 15 key metrics to evaluate which states are strictest and which are the most lenient for DUI offenses.
The metrics included jail time for a first offense, a second offense and when a DUI is considered a felony. Other metrics include fines for first and second offenses and additional penalties.
- Massachusetts Ranked #2 for Best School System by WalletHub
- What Would Bill Belichick Do If a Player Was Drinking on the Sideline?
- New Research: Teen Binge Drinking and Brain Damage
- McGovern’s Spokesman Responds to Drinking Allegations
- Modern Manners + Etiquette: Drinking With Your Mouth Full
- Is Worcester Ready to Handle Toxic Algae in Drinking Water?
- Dear John: Is My Dentist Drinking on the Job?
- Ask a Bartender: What’s Wrong with Drinking Alone?