Welcome! Login | Register

DUI Checkpoint in Worcester County This Weekend, December 16 & 17—DUI Checkpoint in Worcester County This Weekend, December…

Where Will You WOO - Week of December 14, 2017—Where Will You WOO - Week of December…

Human Remains Found in Burning Car in Hope Cemetery—Human Remains Found in Burning Car in Hope…

Central MA Workforce Investment Board Awarded $40,000 Grant for STEM Internships—Central MA Workforce Investment Board Awarded $40,000 Grant…

Newport Manners & Etiquette: Holiday Office Party Rules, Holiday Tipping, Mistletoe Kiss & Gifts—Newport Manners & Etiquette: Holiday Office Party Rules,…

Patriots to Sign Receiver Kenny Britt to 2-Year Deal—Patriots to Sign Receiver Kenny Britt to 2-Year…

Chef Walter’s Flavors + Knowledge: Chicken Vesuvio—Chef Walter's Flavors + Knowledge: Chicken Vesuvio

Two Men Arrested in Worcester for Heroin Possession—Two Men Arrested in Worcester for Heroin Possession

Snow Heading for Worcester—Snow Heading for Worcester

Horowitz: Immigrants Drive American Entrepreneurship—Horowitz: Immigrants Drive American Entrepreneurship


Anderson, Golden & Murphy to be Inducted Into Holy Cross Football Ring Of Honor

Thursday, June 15, 2017


Dr. Eddie Anderson

Dr. Eddie Anderson, Dennis Golden and David Murphy will be recognized as the seventh class in the Crusader Football Legends Ring of Honor this fall, Holy Cross athletics director Nathan Pine announced. 

The ceremony will take place during the Crusaders’ September 16 game against New Hampshire at Fitton Field. 

The Inductees 

Dr. Eddie Anderson 

Anderson served as Holy Cross' head coach from 1933-1938 and 1950-1964, posting an overall record of 129-67-8. He posted a 47-7-4 record in his first tenure, with his 1935 and 1937 teams going undefeated and the 1938 squad posting a 9-1 record and finishing the season with a No. 9 national ranking.

After eight years at Iowa, Anderson returned to Holy Cross in 1950 and was 82-60-4 in his second tenure, including 8-2 marks in 1951 and 1952.

He was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1971. He passed away on April 26, 1974. 

Dennis Golden 

Golden was a two-way tackle for coach Anderson and was selected All-New England and All-East twice, as well as being an Associated Press honorable mention All-American. He co-captained Holy Cross' 1962 football team with fellow Hall of Famer Tom Hennessey, and was a member of the 1963 Quantico Armed Forces Championship football team.

He was drafted by the Dallas Cowboys but turned down a pro contract to enter the Marines. 

David Murphy 

Murphy was a starter in the Crusader defensive backfield for four years, and helped lead the team to a 40-4 record over the course of his career. A four-time first team All-Patriot League selection and three-time All-American, he was also named All-New England and All-ECAC twice.

 In addition, Murphy received the Bulger Lowe Award as the 1989 Defensive Player of the Year in New England, and was selected as the National Player of the Week by Sports Illustrated following the Crusaders' 35-20 victory over Harvard on Oct. 1, 1988. 

He totaled 28 interceptions and 318 tackles during his collegiate career, in addition to returning and two punts for touchdowns. Murphy holds the school record for career interceptions, and still ranks second all-time in football championship subdivision history in career interceptions. 

In 2011, he was named to the Patriot League's 25th-anniversary team

Already in the Ring of Honor 

Individuals who have previously been inducted into the Crusader Football Legends Ring of Honor include Ronnie Cahill (Class of 1940), Tom Ciaccio (Class of 1992), George Connor (Class of ex1946), Gill Fenerty (Class of 1986), Harry Flaherty (Class of 1984), Tom Greene (Class of 1959), Tom Hennessey (Class of 1963), Bruce Kozerski (Class of 1984), Jack Lentz (Class of 1967), Gordie Lockbaum (Class of 1988), Charlie Maloy (Class of 1953), Pat McCarthy (Class of 1963), Jon Morris (Class of 1964), Edmund Murphy (Class of 1943), Bill Osmanski (Class of 1939), Vince Promuto (Class of 1960), John Provost (Class of 1975), Dave Quehl (Class of 1976), Johnny Turco (Class of 1952), Glenn Verrette (Class of 1980), Jeff Wiley (Class of 1989) and Joe Wilson (Class of 1973).


Related Articles


Enjoy this post? Share it with others.



Stay Connected — Free
Daily Email